Livelihood support to improve resilience of pastoralists (Project ELSIR)

Project Overview

Country

Ethiopia

Project name

ELSIR

Project status

Finished

Duration of the project

Start: 01.04.2014
End: 30.09.2015
17 months

Budget

CHF 967’029

Donors

SDC and ECHO

Project area

Topics

Tags

Background

Livestock constitute the principal financial asset of pastoralist communities, whose livelhoods depend almost entirely upon them and their products (milk and meat). Because of frequent droughts the pasture and water conditions are bad, leading to health problems of livestock, affecting heard productivity and resilience. The animals can only be nourished poorly, become sick or die.

Especially poor pastoralists often live in more remote areas and sometimes lack access to veterinary services. Enhancing access to and quality of animal health services greatly improves the wellbeing and income of the pastoral households. Healthy animals are more resilient and therefore better able to withstand hard times, which is why animal health services are a key element in the health and welfare of nomadic and semi-nomadic populations.

Project:

In the ELSIR project VSF-Suisse focuses on working out measures with the pastoralist communities to improve animal health and therefore leading to a more stable livelihood of the inhabitants.

Twenty CAHWs (Community Animal Health Workers) have been trained, equipped with start-up kits, and linked with existing agro-veterinary shops. Logistical support has also been provided to control livestock disease outbreaks.
2500 vulnerable households lacking access to veterinary services were provided with cash vouchers to protect their core breeding stocks.
Furthermore through the ELSIR project two traditional water points were rehabilitated in order to harvest as much water as possible during rainy periods and thus boost water availability during long dry seasons.

Through the introduction of Pastoral Field Schools, three vulnerable pastoral communities were supported in establishing learning platforms which allowed them to analyse their livelihood systems, identify constraints, and test applicable solutions.

At the same time these communities were supported to establish savings-and-loans groups (also known as Village Community Banks or VICOBA) . so as to improve the availability of cash at village levels for contingency events or periods of crisis, and for stimulation of income-generating activities. A participatory approach was applied in the ELSIR project, involving local government and working with the communities in planning, implementation, monitoring, and evaluation. By doing that it was possible to develop sustainable institutions that will continue beyond the project’s timespan.

Unterstützung der Lebensgrundlage von nomadischen Gemeinschaften zur Stärkung der Widerstandsfähigkeit

Projektübersicht:

Land

Äthiopien

Projektname

ELSIR

Projektstatus

Abgeschlossen

Projektdauer

Start: 01.04.2014
Ende: 30.09.2015
17 Monate

Budget

CHF 967’029

Finanziert durch

DEZA und ECHO 

Projektgebiet

Themen

Tags 

Hintergrund:

Tiere sind die wichtigste finanzielle Grundlage nomadischer Gemeinschaften; ihre Lebensgrundlage hängt fast vollständig von den Tieren und ihren Produkten (Milch, Fleisch) ab. Dürren und Trockenheit führen in den Regionen Moyale und Mubarak zu fehlendem Wasser und trockenen Weiden. Die Tiere können nur schlecht ernährt werden, werden krank oder sterben.

Vor allem ärmere nomadische Gemeinschaften leben oft in abgelegenen Gebieten und haben keinen Zugang zu tierärztlichen Dienstleistungen und Medikamenten für ihre Tiere. Gesunde Tiere sind widerstandsfähiger und können somit auch schwere Zeiten besser überstehen, weshalb Dienstleistungen im Tiergesundheitsbereich ein Schlüsselelement für die Gesundheit und das Wohlergehen der nomadischen und halbnomadischen Bevölkerungsgruppen sind.

Projekt:

VSF-Suisse fokussiert sich im Projekt ELSIR darauf, mit der nomadischen Bevölkerung in Moyale und Mubarak Massnahmen zu erarbeiten, welche die Gesundheit ihrer Tiere verbessern und somit auch zur einer stabileren Lebensgrundlage der Bewohner führen. 

Zwanzig Laientierärzte werden ausgebildet, mit einer Grundlagen-Ausrüstung ausgestattet und mit bereits bestehenden Veterinärmedizin-Geschäften in Verbindung gesetzt. Weitere logistische Unterstützung wird zur Verfügung gestellt, um zu verhindern, dass sich Tierkrankheiten weiter ausbreiten.
2500 besonders bedürftige Haushalte erhalten Vouchers, damit sie tiermedizinische Dienstleistungen in Anspruch nehmen können.
Weiters wurden durch das Projekt ELSIR zwei Wasserspeicher rehabilitiert, damit mehr und nachhaltiger Wasser gesammelt werden kann und somit auch während den trockenen Zeiten Wasser zur Verfügung steht. 

In drei bedürftigen Gemeinden wurden Pastoral Field Schools implementiert. Dabei werden Lerngruppen gebildet, in denen die Bewohner ihre Lebensgrundlagen und die daraus resultierenden Bedürfnisse und Probleme analysieren und selbst nach Lösungen suchen.  

In denselben Gemeinschaften wurden auch Village Community Banks (VICOBAS) ins Leben gerufen. Eine Personengruppe verwaltet einen gewissen Geldbetrag: Ein Teil davon wird gespart und ein Teil kann an die Bewohner verliehen werden. Ziel ist es, die Verfügbarkeit von Bargeld in einem Dorf zu garantieren; einerseits für den Fall einer Notsituation, aber auch für die Stimulation von einkommensfördernden Massnahmen. Beim ELSIR-Projekt wird viel Wert darauf gelegt, mit einem „Zugang der Mitbestimmung“ zu arbeiten, das heisst es wird mit den lokalen Behörden zusammengearbeitet und die betroffenen Gemeinschaften werden bei der Planung, der Implementation und der Evaluation des Projekts involviert. So können nachhaltige Institutionen aufgebaut werden, deren Massnahmen auch nach Ende des Projekts weiterhin bestehen bleiben.