Community and Institutional Resilience Project in Liptako-Gourma

Project Overview

Country

Mali

Burkina Faso

Niger

Project name

Ensemble, espérons

Project status

Active

Duration of the project

Start:

15.12.2021

End:

14.12.2024

Budget

CHF 1’052’632

Financed by

Austrian Development Agency Vector Logo | Free Download - (.SVG + .PNG ...

 

Partners
  • Réseau Bilital Moroobe (RBM)
  • Autorité de Développement Intégré des Etats du Liptako-Gourma (ALG) in Burkina Faso
  • Institut du Sahel (INSAH) (Establishment of the Permanent Inter-State Committee for Drought Control in the Sahel CILSS)
  • Swisspeace

 

Project region

Topics

Tags

Background

ECOWAS has defined key points in its ECOWAS 2050 strategic document. One of these key points is cross-border regional cooperation. The Liptako-Gourma region is located at the crossroads of three countries, Niger, Mali and Burkina Faso. The region is regularly affected by conflicts and food insecurity is omnipresent. In addition, the region is also a known transit area for pastoral communities and their herds of livestock. These populations are often involved in rural land conflicts with indigenous populations. Because of these political, economic and ecological problems, the situation in the project area is very tense.

VSF-Suisse and its partners want to strengthen the resilience to food crises in the region and support institutions in conflict prevention. VSF-Suisse works with different partners in the region, including the RBM which is the implementing partner of the project. The project involves local communities and authorities as well as groups around Income Generating Activities (IGA). The exchange and development of economic relationships should help fight hunger and eliminate the breeding ground for conflict. Within the framework of the project, VSF-Suisse will focus on pastoral communities and their economic opportunities. The focus will be on capacity building and sustainable management of resources (especially pasture and water).

Objectives

With this project, VSF-Suisse and its partners want to contribute to the strengthening of local mechanisms for peaceful development in the Tri-border region (Burkina-Mali-Niger). These mechanisms should make it possible to cope with recurrent climatic shocks and to fight against insecurity.

Specific goals are:

1. Improve the effectiveness of local mechanisms, inclusive of all social components, in preventing and dealing with recurrent shocks and socio-security crises.

2.Local actors, through their respective organizations in synergy and with the support of institutional partners, diversify their livelihoods and conduct the main economic activities that respect the environment

3. Transversal, “triple Nexus” learning: The actors involved are engaged on a learning trajectory

Approach

VSF-Suisse has been active in Mali since 2004 and works along livestock value chains that contribute to improved income and increased food security. In line with the global strategy 2021-2024, the project uses the Triple Nexus approach to combine long-term local development with humanitarian and peacebuilding measures in the project. This approach is particularly suitable in unstable contexts, such as in the Liptako Gourma region, as it allows for flexible and efficient implementation of measures.

Which of the 17 UN Sustainable Development Goals does this project work towards?

 

 

Other projects in the country

Gemeinschaftliches und institutionelles Resilienzprojekt in Liptako-Gourma 

Projektübersicht

Land

Mali

Burkina Faso

Niger

Projektname

Ensemble, espérons 

Projektstatus

Aktiv

Projektdauer

Start:

15.12.2021

Ende:

14.12.2024

Budget

CHF 1’052’632

Finanziert durch

Austrian Development Agency Vector Logo | Free Download - (.SVG + .PNG ...

 

Partner
  • Réseau Bilital Moroobe (RBM) in Niger 
  • Autorité de Développement Intégré de la Région du Liptako-Gourma (ALG) in Burkina Faso
  •  Institut du Sahel (INSAH) in Mali (Teil des Comité permanent Inter-Etats de Lutte Contre la Sécheresse dans le Sahel CILSS) 
  • Swisspeace

 

Projektregion

Themen

Tags

Hintergrund

Die ECOWAS hat in ihrem Strategiepapier ECOWAS 2050 Kernpunkte definiert. Einer dieser Kernpunkte ist die regionale grenzüberschreitende Zusammenarbeit. Die Region Liptako-Gourma befindet sich im Dreiländereck zwischen Niger, Mali und Burkina Faso. Die Region wird immer wieder von Konflikten heimgesucht und Ernährungsunsicherheit ist allgegenwärtig. Andererseits ist die Region auch ein bekanntes Durchgangsgebiet für nomadische Gemeinschaften mit ihren Viehherden. Diese Bevölkerungsgruppen sind oft in Landnutzungs-Konflikte mit der sesshaften Bevölkerung involviert. Die Lage im Projektgebiets ist aufgrund dieser politischen, ökonomischen und ökologischen Probleme sehr angespannt. 

VSF-Suisse und ihre Partner möchten in der Region die Widerstandfähigkeit gegenüber Ernährungskrisen stärken und Institutionen bei der Konfliktprävention unterstützen. VSF-Suisse und ihre Partner arbeiten in der Region mit verschiedenen Partnern zusammen, darunter auch RBM, der Umsetzungspartner des Projekts. Das Projekt arbeitet mit lokalen Gemeinschaften und Behörden sowie Gruppierungen, welche einkommensschaffende Aktivitäten durchführen. Durch den Austausch und den Aufbau wirtschaftlicher Beziehungen sollen der Hunger bekämpft und den Konflikten der Nährboden entzogen werden. VSF-Suisse wird sich im Projekt vor allem um die nomadischen Gemeinschaften und deren wirtschaftlichen Möglichkeiten kümmern. Dabei steht der Aufbau von Kapazitäten und der nachhaltige Umgang mit den Ressourcen (insbesondere Weiden und Wasser) im Vordergrund.  

Ziel

Mit dem Projekt will VSF-Suisse mit ihren Partnern, in Dreiländereck (Burkina-Mali-Niger) zur Stärkung von lokalen Mechanismen für eine friedliche Entwicklung beitragen. Mit Hilfe dieser Mechanismen sollen wiederkehrende Klimaschocks bewältigt und die Unsicherheit bekämpft werden. 

Spezifische Ziele sind hierbei: 

1. Verbesserung der Wirksamkeit lokaler Mechanismen, die alle sozialen Komponenten einschliessen, bei der Prävention und Bewältigung von wiederkehrenden Schocks und Krisen. 

2. Die lokalen Akteure diversifizieren mit Unterstützung der institutionellen Partner ihre Einkommensquellen.  

3. Transversales Lernen, “triple Nexus”: Die beteiligten Akteure befinden sich auf einem Lernpfad. 

Ansatz

VSF-Suisse ist seit 2004 in Mali aktiv und arbeitet entlang von tierischen Wertschöpfungsketten, die zur Verbesserung der Einkommen und zur Erhöhung der Ernährungssicherheit beitragen. Getreu der Strategie 2021- 2024 nutzt das Projekt den Nexus Ansatz, um neben langfristiger Lokalentwicklung auch humanitäre und friedenstiftende Massnahmen im Projekt zu vereinen. Dieser Ansatz ist vor allem in instabilen Kontexten wie in der Region LiptakoGourma von Vorteil, weil er es ermöglicht, die Massnahmen effizient umzusetzen. 

Welche der 17 Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung der Vereinten Nationen verfolgt dieses Projekt?

 

        

 

Weitere Projekte im Land