One Health in Action: the HEAL project

Project Overview

Country

Ethiopia, Kenya and Somalia

Project name

One Health Units for Humans, Environment, Animals and Livelihoods (OH4HEAL)

Project status

Active

Duration of the project

Start: 01.03.2019
End: 31.10.2024

Budget

CHF 8’000’000

Co-funded by

 

 

Partners

 

 

Project area

Topics

Tags

 

What is HEAL?

One Health is an intersectoral approach recognizing the close connection of the health of people to the health of animals and our shared environment. VSF-Suisse’s One Health Units for Humans, Environment, Animals and Livelihoods (HEAL) project uses this approach to enhance the well-being and resilience of vulnerable communities in pastoralist and agro-pastoralist areas of Ethiopia, Somalia, and Kenya. The project aims to reshape veterinary and medical service delivery by creating One Health Units (OHUs). These units will facilitate interactions and coordination between governmental departments, private service providers, and communities. They should strengthen human, livestock, and environmental health services and help to develop sustainable strategies for coping with changing environments and climate change, all while being financially efficient. 12 OHUs will be piloted in HEAL project sites according to the most prominent needs of our stakeholders. As the mobility of pastoralist communities requires solutions that are not limited to a defined geographical area, the units can be either mobile or static, depending on the different target areas. HEAL’s regional approach covers border areas of Ethiopia, Somalia, and Kenya, offering the advantage of reaching communities who move across regional and national borders, regardless of their current location.

Strong partnerships for a strong impact

The HEAL project brings together 3 consortium partners that are experts in their respective fields: VSF-Suisse in animal health, the Comitato Collaborazione Medica CCM in human health, and the International Livestock Research Institute ILRI in animal health, natural resource management, gender, and impact assessment and research. Each of the partners has a well-recognized track-record on practical implementation of One Health, well-established networks in the target areas of HEAL, and an extensive experience in capacity development.

Following a participatory approach to provide more evidence on One Health efficiency

HEAL follows a participatory approach in applying One Health by ensuring that vulnerable communities, service providers, and governmental institutions participate in every stage of the project: from problem identification to implementing solutions and managing the end-of-project handover of responsibilities and processes. The project furthermore engages with the communities via the Multi-Stakeholder Innovation Platforms (MSIPs) which provide a platform for understanding the needs of women and men in the communities and ensuring these are reflected in the services provided by OHUs. MSIPs will also promote the capacity building process of the communities as well as local authorities and facilitate timely response to natural disasters and health emergencies. Through the MSIPs and based on the increased recognition of women in livestock management, the project will develop a stream of work to enhance women’s decision-making power and access to resources.

Please visit www.oh4heal.org for more information.

Other projects in the country

One Health in Action: das HEAL Projekt

Projektübersicht

Land

Äthiopien, Kenia und Somalia

Projektname

One Health Units for Humans, Environment, Animals and Livelihoods (OH4HEAL)

Projektstatus

Aktiv

Projektdauer

Start: 01.03.2019
Ende: 31.10.2024

Budget

CHF 8’000’000

Teilfinanziert durch

 

 

Partner

 

 

Projektgebiet

Themen

Tags

 

Was ist HEAL?

One Health ist ein sektorübergreifender Ansatz, der die enge Verbindung zwischen der Gesundheit der Menschen, der Gesundheit der Tiere und unserer gemeinsamen Umwelt berücksichtigt. Das Projekt One Health Units for Humans, Environment, Animals and Livelihoods (HEAL) von VSF-Suisse nutzt diesen Ansatz, um das Wohlergehen und die Widerstandsfähigkeit gefährdeter nomadischer und halbsesshafter Gemeinschaften in Gebieten in Äthiopien, Somalia und Kenia zu verbessern. Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, die tierärztliche und humanmedizinische Versorgung durch die Schaffung von One Health Units (OHUs) neu zu gestalten. Diese Einheiten werden die Interaktion und Koordination zwischen Regierungsstellen, privaten Dienstleistern und Gemeinden erleichtern. Sie sollen die Gesundheitsdienste für Mensch, Tier und Umwelt stärken und dabei helfen, nachhaltige Strategien zur Bewältigung des Klimawandels zu entwickeln – und das alles bei gleichzeitiger finanzieller Effizienz. 12 OHUs werden in einer ersten Phase an verschiedenen Standorten entsprechend den wichtigsten Bedürfnissen eingesetzt. Da die Mobilität von nomadischen Gemeinschaften Lösungen erfordert, die nicht auf ein bestimmtes geografisches Gebiet beschränkt sind, können die Einheiten entweder mobil oder stationär sein. HEAL deckt die Grenzgebiete von Äthiopien, Somalia und Kenia ab und bietet den Vorteil, Gemeinschaften zu erreichen, die sich fortlaufend über regionale und nationale Grenzen hinwegbewegen.

Starke Partnerschaften für eine starke Wirkung

Das HEAL-Projekt bringt drei Konsortialpartner zusammen, die Experten auf ihrem jeweiligen Gebiet sind: VSF-Suisse in der Tiergesundheit, das Comitato Collaborazione Medica CCM in der Humanmedizin und das International Livestock Research Institute ILRI in der Forschung, Tiergesundheit und dem Management natürlicher Ressourcen. Jeder der Partner verfügt über eine anerkannte Erfolgsbilanz bei der praktischen Umsetzung von One Health, über gut etablierte lokale Netzwerke und über umfangreiche Erfahrungen beim Aufbau von Kapazitäten.

Partizipativer Ansatz und Effizienz von One Health

HEAL verfolgt bei der Anwendung von One Health einen partizipativen Ansatz, indem es sicherstellt, dass Gemeinden, Dienstleister und staatliche Institutionen an jeder Phase des Projekts beteiligt sind: von der Problemerkennung über die Umsetzung von Lösungen bis hin zur Übergabe der Verantwortlichkeiten und Prozesse am Ende des Projekts. Das Projekt beinhaltet ausserdem den Aufbau von Multi-Stakeholder-Innovationsplattformen (MSIPs), die eine Plattform für das Verständnis der Bedürfnisse von Frauen und Männern in den Gemeinden bieten und sicherstellen, dass diese sich in den von den OHUs angebotenen Dienstleistungen widerspiegeln. Die MSIPs fördern auch den Prozess des Kapazitätsaufbaus der Gemeinden sowie der lokalen Behörden und erleichtern die rechtzeitige Reaktion auf Naturkatastrophen und Gesundheitsnotfälle. Durch die MSIPs und basierend auf der zunehmenden Wichtigkeit von Frauen in der Viehwirtschaft wird das Projekt die Entscheidungsgewalt von Frauen und ihren Zugang zu Ressourcen zu stärken.

Bitte besuchen Sie www.oh4heal.org für mehr Informationen.

Weitere Projekte im Land