Better living conditions for Togolese smallholders, honey from healthy bees and shea butter from sustainably used forest pastures

Project Overview

Country

Togo

Project name

MiKaGo

Project status

Active

Duration of the project

Start:

01.01.2021

End:

31.12.2023

Budget

CHF 562,164

Financed by
  • Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC)
  • Audemars-Piguet-Foundation
  • Däster-Schild Foundation
  • Else v. Sick Foundation
  • Margarethe and Rudolf Gsell Foundation
  • Nord-Süd Foundation
  • Communes Genthod, Menier and Riehen
  • Lottery funds of the Cantons of Appenzell-Ausserrhoden, Berne, Aargau, Grisons and Glarus
  • Cities of Lancy and Onex
  • Temperatio Foundation
Partners
  • Gestion de l’Environnement et Valorisation des Produits Agropastoraux et Forestiers (GEVAPAF)
  • Centre d’Action pour la Sécurité Alimentaire, le Développement Durable et la Valorisation des Ressources (CASADD-VR)

     

Project area

Topics

Tags

 

Background

Of Togolese households living in rural areas (about 60 %), more than 65 % are poor. According to FAO, a significant number of people living in poverty depend on forests and trees (forest fruits) for their livelihoods. Entire communities have settled on the edges of 83 forest reserves to exploit the resources they need for their livelihoods through poaching, timber, firewood and charcoal production, wild beekeeping, and the collection of food, fruits and plants. The increasing exploitation of natural resources is accelerating deforestation and soil erosion, as well as the disappearance of certain animal and plant species. This poses a serious threat to biodiversity and the ecosystem of the entire region.

The exploitation of forests will continue until the population has alternative and sustainable sources of income that contribute to food security, wealth creation and employment. Forest fruit production is one such alternative. Honey and shea butter are in high demand in national and international markets. However, local farmers are not yet able to fully exploit the potential of these sectors.

 

The project

The MiKaGo project has three pillars:

1. capacity development/vocational training

The project starts on the one hand with the training of smallholder farmers in beekeeping, shea processing and tree seedling production, and on the other hand with the training of artisans in the production of tools. Networking between the two groups is encouraged and they are trained in the use of effective techniques. During the training sessions, attendees will gather in a village or on one of the production plots, where they will learn how to colonize a beehive or how to efficiently collect shea nuts or raise seedlings. Nurserymen will focus on producing shea plants for reforestation in deforested areas.

2. market system development

In addition to training, smallholder farmers will receive adequate equipment (beehives) and access to microcredits to improve their production capacity (in quantity and quality). The idea of the project is to provide the smallholders with an additional income to improve their living conditions. This is because neither honey nor shea butter are staple foods; in both cases, they are products that are in demand in the cities by the growing Togolese middle class or industry. To meet this demand, the project relies on modern and efficient, but somewhat more expensive, processes. Instead of burning honeycombs to collect honey (wild beekeeping), the project promotes the use of new types of hives. To make the collection of shea nuts more efficient, the women collectors are equipped with shea collecting sticks. The sticks mean that the women have to bend down less and are less exposed to snake bites.

3. participatory use of forests and trees

Production areas are demarcated and allocated to cooperatives in collaboration with communities and the authorities. The production objectives of the cooperatives are set in relation to the production area granted.

In collaboration with a research institute (ESA/ITRA), the project will conduct a study on the bee health situation in the target areas. In areas where there is a risk of infestation (e.g. Varroa mite) or pesticide poisoning, producers will be made aware of these risks and methods to control bee diseases, and encouraged to switch to agriculture with less pesticide use around the forests.

In addition to monitoring the health of bee colonies and shea trees, biodiversity conservation is monitored. Real-time monitoring of the forests will be established in each beneficiary community. This initiative consists of developing and testing a digital tool that will be made available to communities so that they can alert the authorities in real time when a forest violation is observed.

 

Goals

Global objective (“impact”):

The living conditions of at least 1,500 smallholder households around the “Fazao-Malfakassa” protected area and around the “Abdoulaye Forest” in Togo have improved through locally adapted forms of use (shea forest pastures and pesticide-free forest honey) and the participatory management of the buffer zones around the protected areas has improved sustainably.

Outcome 1:

20 farmer organizations (associations) are addressing the needs of smallholder farmers and at least 1,500 smallholder farmers and 100 artisans are successfully applying their learned skills.

Outcome 2:

The competitiveness of forest honey and shea butter from the project area has improved and 1,500 smallholder farmers are better able to sell their products on the market thanks to better quality and larger quantities.

Outcome 3:

Natural resource management has improved in the forests of the project area and around the selected forest pastures.

 

Which of the 17 UN Sustainable Development Goals does this project work towards?

 

Other projects in the country

Bessere Lebensbedingungen für togolesische Kleinbäuer*innen, Honig von gesunden Bienen und Sheabutter aus nachhaltig genutzten Waldweiden 

Projektübersicht

Land

Togo

Projektname

MiKaGo

Projektstatus

Aktiv

Projektdauer

Start: 01.01.2021
Ende: 31.12.2023
36 Monate

Budget

CHF 562’164

Finanziert durch

  • Audemars-Piguet-Stiftung
  • Däster-Schild Stiftung
  • Else v. Sick Stiftung
  • Gemeinden Genthod und Riehen
  • Lotteriefonds der Kantone Appenzell-Ausserrhoden, Bern, Aargau und Glarus
  • Stadt Onex
  • Stiftung Temperatio

Partner

  • Gestion de l’Environnement et Valorisation des Produits Agropastoraux et Forestiers (GEVAPAF)

  • Centre d’Action pour la Sécurité Alimentaire, le Développement Durable et la Valorisation des Ressources (CASADD-VR)

     

Projektgebiet

Themen

Tags

 

Hintergrund

Von den togolesischen Haushalten, die in ländlichen Gebieten leben (etwa 60 %), sind mehr als 65 % von Armut betroffen. Laut FAO ist eine bedeutende Anzahl von Menschen, die in Armut leben, für ihren Lebensunterhalt von Wäldern und Bäumen (Waldfrüchten) abhängig. Ganze Gemeinden haben sich an den Rändern von 83 Waldreservaten angesiedelt, um die für ihren Lebensunterhalt notwendigen Ressourcen durch Wilderei, Holz-, Brennholz- und Holzkohleproduktion, Wildimkerei und das Sammeln von Nahrungsmitteln, Früchten und Pflanzen aufzutreiben. Die zunehmende Ausbeutung der natürlichen Ressourcen beschleunigt die Entwaldung und Bodenerosion sowie das Verschwinden bestimmter Tier- und Pflanzenarten. Dies stellt eine ernsthafte Bedrohung für die biologische Vielfalt und das Ökosystem der gesamten Region dar.

Die Ausbeutung der Wälder wird so lange fortgesetzt, bis die Bevölkerung alternative und nachhaltige Einkommensquellen hat, die zur Ernährungssicherheit, zur Schaffung von Wohlstand und Beschäftigung beitragen. Die Produktion von Waldfrüchten ist eine solche Alternative. Honig und Sheabutter sind auf den nationalen und internationalen Märkten sehr gefragt. Die lokalen Kleinbäuer*innen sind aber noch nicht in der Lage, das Potenzial dieser Sektoren voll auszuschöpfen.

 

Das Projekt

Das Projekt MiKaGo hat drei Standbeine:

1. Kapazitätsentwicklung/Berufsbildung

Das Projekt fördert einerseits die Ausbildung von Kleinbäuer*innen in der Bienenzucht, der Shea-Verarbeitung und der Produktion von Baumsetzlingen, andererseits die Ausbildung von Handwerker*innen in der Produktion von Werkzeugen. Die zwei Gruppen sollen dabei vernetzt und in der Anwendung wirksamer Techniken geschult werden. So lernen sie beispielsweise, wie man einen Bienenstock besiedelt, effizient Shea-Nüsse sammelt oder Setzlinge aufzieht. Baumschulist*innen werden sich speziell auf die Produktion von Shea-Pflanzen für die Wiederaufforstung in abgeholzten Wäldern konzentrieren.

2. Marktsystemische-Entwicklung

Neben der Ausbildung erhalten die Kleinbäuer*innen eine Grundausstattung (z.B. Bienenstöcke) und Zugang zu Mikrokrediten, um ihre Produktionskapazität (in Quantität und Qualität) zu verbessern. Die Idee des Projekts ist es, den Kleinbäuer*innen ein zusätzliches Einkommen zu verschaffen, um ihre Lebensbedingungen zu verbessern. Denn weder Honig noch Sheabutter sind Grundnahrungsmittel; in beiden Fällen handelt es sich um Produkte, die in den Städten von der wachsenden togoischen Mittelschicht oder der Industrie nachgefragt werden. Um dieser Nachfrage gerecht zu werden, stützt sich das Projekt auf moderne und effiziente, aber auch etwas teurere Verfahren. Anstatt Waben zu verbrennen, um Honig zu sammeln (wilde Bienenzucht), fördert das Projekt die Verwendung neuer Arten von Bienenstöcken. Um das Sammeln von Shea-Nüssen effizienter zu gestalten, werden die Sammlerinnen mit Shea-Sammelstöcken ausgestattet. Durch die Stöcke müssen sich die Frauen weniger bücken und sind den Schlangenbissen weniger ausgesetzt.

3. Partizipative Nutzung der Wälder und der Bäume

In Zusammenarbeit mit den Gemeinden und den traditionellen Autoritäten werden Produktionsflächen abgegrenzt und an Genossenschaften vergeben. Die Produktionsziele der Genossenschaften werden in Bezug auf die gewährte Produktionsfläche festgelegt.

In Zusammenarbeit mit einem Forschungsinstitut (ESA/ITRA) wird das Projekt eine Studie über die Bienengesundheitssituation in den Zielgebieten durchführen. In Gebieten, in denen die Gefahr eines Befalls (z.B. Varroa-Milbe) oder einer Pestizidvergiftung besteht, werden die Produzent*innen auf diese Risiken und die Methoden zur Bekämpfung von Bienenkrankheiten aufmerksam gemacht und ermutigt, zu einer Landwirtschaft mit weniger Pestizidverbrauch rund um die Wälder überzugehen.

Neben der Kontrolle der Gesundheit der Bienenvölker und der Shea-Bäume, wird die Erhaltung der biologischen Vielfalt überwacht. In jeder begünstigten Gemeinde wird ein gemeinschaftliches Echtzeit-Monitoring der Wälder eingerichtet. Diese Initiative besteht in der Entwicklung und Erprobung eines digitalen Tools, das den Gemeinschaften zur Verfügung gestellt wird, damit sie die Behörden in Echtzeit alarmieren können, wenn eine Waldverletzung beobachtet wird.

 

Ziele

Globalziel (“impact”):

Die Lebensbedingungen von mindestens 1’500 kleinbäuerlichen Haushalten rund um das Schutzgebiet «Fazao-Malfakassa» und rund um den «Abdoulaye-Wald» in Togo haben sich durch lokal angepasste Nutzungsformen (Shea-Waldweiden und pestizidfreier Waldhonig) verbessert und die partizipative Bewirtschaftung der Pufferzonen rund um die Schutzgebiete hat sich nachhaltig verbessert.

Outcome 1:

20 bäuerliche Organisationen (Verbände) gehen auf die Bedürfnisse der Kleinbauern ein und mindestens 1’500 Kleinbäuer*innen und 100 Handwerker*innen wenden ihre erlernten Kenntnisse erfolgreich an.

Outcome 2:

Die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit von Waldhonig und Sheabutter aus dem Projektgebiet hat sich verbessert und 1’500 Kleinbäuer*innen können ihre Erzeugnisse dank besserer Qualität und grösserer Mengen besser auf dem Markt absetzen.

Outcome 3:

Die Bewirtschaftung der natürlichen Ressourcen hat sich in den Wäldern des Projektgebiets und rund um die ausgewählten Waldweiden verbessert.

 

Welche der 17 Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung der Vereinten Nationen verfolgt dieses Projekt?

 

        

Weitere Projekte im Land

Aktive Projekte