Puntland Animal Health Support Project (Project PAHS)

Project Overview

Country

Somalia

Project name

PAHS

Project status

Finished

Duration of the project

Start: 16.05.2014
End: 15.08.2015
12 months

Budget

CHF 450’000

Donors

SDC

Project area

Topics

Tags

Background

The semi-autonomous state of Puntland heavily depends on livestock both for export and subsistence. However, the livestock sector has been hampered by frequent droughts, floods and bans on international trade due to outbreaks of trade sensitive diseases. As a result, the sector has failed to achieve its potential in contributing to better food security.

Also in the pastoral areas of Puntland is characterized by inadequate or absence of veterinary services. Poor road and communication network makes it difficult for timely dissemination of animal health imformation. This hinders appropriate response to disease outbreaks such that epizootics can easily spread and cause huge losses.

VSF-Suisse has extensive experience in livestock sector in Somalia. It has implemented a number of projects in Puntland in recent years funded by SDC covering animal health, fish industry, meat/milk market support and internally displaced people (IDP) support.

 

Project:

The main beneficiaries for this project are pastoralists and veterinary service providers. The animal health service delivery will be for poor households having mainly small ruminants and smaller numbers of other species of livestock. They will be identified by the elders and community development committees in the area. Women headed households will be given priority in the selection.

Before the start of livestock treatment exercise, a baseline survey of livestock health will be carried out in the identified areas. This assessment will focus on identifying common disease problems. Animal health service delivery will be carried out through a networks. The members of this network will receive further training in order to strengthen their capacity. Each network will then be linked to a pharmacy. The pharmacy owner is also trained and the pharmacy equipped with veterinary drugs. During the periods of high worm burden, strategic mass deworming of livestock will be carried out in the areas of intervention.

 

A special focus of the project lies on the Zoonotic diseases, which can be transmitted between animals and humans. Messages on how to prevent the transmission will be aired on local radio stations and information regarding the control of zoonoses will be prepared by use of posters.

 

Due to lack of veterinary service providers in the remote areas, livestock owners attempt to treat their ainmals; often without correct withdrawal periods for products of the animal under treatment. As a result, drug residues end up in livestock products posing public health concerns for the consumers. T The pastoralists will be made aware of the dangers of drug residues through local radio stations and workshops.

Active projects:

Finished Projects:

Unterstützung von Tiergesundheit in Puntland

Projektübersicht:

Land

Somalia

Projektname

PAHS

Projektstatus

Abgeschlossen

Projektdauer

Start: 16.05.2014
Ende: 15.08.2015
12Monaate

Budget

CHF 450’000

Finanziert durch

DEZA

Projektgebiet

Themen

Tags 

Hintergrund:

Die Bevölkerung des halbautonomen Staats von Puntland ist stark angewiesen auf Viehexport und Vieh für Eigengebrauch. Der Viehsektor wurde jedoch über die Jahre stark beeinträchtigt von Düren, Überschwemmungen und Ausschlüssen vom internationalen Handel. Als Folge davon, kann dieser Sektor sein Potential nicht erreichen und zu einer besseren Ernährungssicherheit beitragen.

Die abgelegenen Gebiete von Puntland sind zudem gekennzeichnet von unzureichenden oder gar fehlenden Tierärztlichen Dienstleistungen. Schlechte Strassen und Kommunikationsnetzwerke machen es schwer Informationen in Tiergesundheit zu verbreiten. Somit kann meistens nicht richtig auf Ausbrüche von Tierkrankheiten reagiert werden, die Krankheiten verbreiten sich und führen zu riesigen Verlusten von Vieh.

VSF-Suisse hat schon viel Erfahrung im Viehsektor in Somalia. Wir haben bereits einige Projekte durchgeführt in den letzten Jahren, in den Bereichen von Tiergesundheit, Fischindustrie, Fleisch-/Milchmarkt und Unterstützung von IDPs (internally displaced people)

 

Projekt:

Die Hauptbegünstigten im PAHS Projekt sind Pastoralisten und Tiergesundheitsdienstleister. Arme Haushalte, die nur eine kleine Anzahl von Tieren haben, werden mit Tiergesundheitsmassnahmen unterstützt. Von Frauen geführte Haushalte erhalten Vorrang.

Bevor die Informationen verteilt und die Ausbildungen begonnen werden, wird eine kurze Überblicksstudie durchgeführt, die aufzeigen soll, welches die häufigsten Tierkrankheiten in der Region sind und wo es am dringendsten Unterstützung braucht. Die Tiergesundheitsdienstleistungen werden durch ein Netzwerk ausgeführt. Die Mitglieder dieses Netzwerkes erhalten zusätzliche Ausbildungen um ihre Kapazitäten zu erhöhen. Jedes Netzwerk wird mit einer Apotheke in Verbindung gesetzt um immer genügend Zugang zu Tiermedikamenten zu haben. Die Apotheker werden ebenfalls in gewissen Aspekten der Tiergesundheit ausgebildet und die Apotheke wird im Rahmen des Projekts mit Tiermedikamenten aufgestockt.

 

Ein spezieller Fokus des Projekts liegt auf der Zoonosen Krankheit, die zwischen Tieren und Menschen übertragen werden kann. Informationen wie diese Übertragung verhindert werden kann, werden über lokale Radiosender und Posters verbreitet.

 

Wegen fehlenden Tierarztdienstleistungen behandeln die Besitzer ihre Tiere selber; meistens ohne die korrekten Entzugsperioden für Medikamente. Das bedeutet, dass in den Tierprodukten Rückstände von Medikamenten sind, was eine Gefahr für die Konsumenten darstellt. Die Viehhalter werden darum über diese Risiken über das Radio und in Workshops aufgeklärt.