Dissemination of technologies for the sustainable management of rangelands and small ruminants (PET IFAD)

Project Overview

Country

Somalia, Djibouti

Project name

PET IFAD

Project status

Completed

Duration of the project

Start: 28.02.2017
End: 31.03.2021
49 months

Budget

USD 2’000’000

Financed by

Project area

Topics

Tags

Background

Somaliland and Djibouti, both semi-arid and arid areas, are severely affected by climate change. The region suffers from water shortages due to irregular rainfall, which has serious consequences for pastoralists and agro-pastoralists. Their agricultural practices aren’t adapted to such weather conditions, their harvest decreases, and their goats and sheep have less and less food In addition to a low income, this situation may lead to food insecurity in the region.

 

Project

The aim of our project is to improve the livelihoods of pastoralists and agro-pastoralists in Somaliland and Djibouti. In order to achieve this goal, we familiarize them with agricultural techniques that are more suitable for the new climate conditions.

For example, we show small farmers how they can increase their grain, fruit and vegetable production through community seed banks and a rainwater irrigation system despite scarce water resources, or how breeders can produce, conserve and use their own forage.

We introduce pastoralist communities into sustainable grazing managementsystems so that the rangelands can recover and serve as a source of food for their goats and sheep. As part of the project, we also organize workshops to improve cooperation between pastoralists and the national agricultural research institutes. Thus, through a combination of traditional knowledge and new agricultural technologies, more food can be produced for the animals and their owners.

 

Other projects in the country

Active projects

Completed projects

Verbesserung der Lebensgrundlagen in ariden Zonen von Dschibuti und Somalia durch produktivitätssteigernde Technologien

Projektübersicht:

Land

Somalia

Projektname

PET IFAD

Projektstatus

aktiv

Projektdauer

Start: 28.02.2017
Ende: 31.03.2021
49Monate

Budget

USD 2’000’000

In Zusammenarbeit mit

IFAD

Projektgebiet

Themen

Tags

Hintergrund:

Somaliland und Dschibuti, beides Halbtrocken- und Trockengebiete, sind stark vom Klimawandel betroffen. Durch unregelmässige Regenfälle leidet die Region an Wasserknappheit, was für die nomadischen Viehzüchter und Kleinbauern gravierende Folgen hat. Ihre Ernte nimmt ab und ihre Ziegen und Schafe haben immer weniger Futter. Neben einem niedrigen Einkommen kann diese Situation zu einer Ernährungsunsicherheit in der Region führen.

 

Projekt:

In unserem Projekt möchten wir die Lebensgrundlagen der nomadischen und halbsesshaften Viehzüchter und Kleinbauern in Somaliland und Dschibuti verbessern. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, machen wir sie mit landwirtschaftlichen Techniken vertraut, die für die neuen Klimabedingungen besser geeignet sind.

So zeigen wir zum Beispiel den Kleinbauern, wie sie durch gemeinschaftliche Saatgutbanken und durch ein Bewässerungssystem mit Regenwasser trotz knapper Wasserressourcen ihre Getreide-, Früchte- und Gemüseproduktion steigern oder den Viehzüchtern, wie sie ihr eigenes Tierfutter herstellen, aufbewahren und verwenden können.

Die Hirtengemeinschaften lernen, wie sie ihre Weiden am besten bewirtschaften, sodass sich das geschädigte Weideland erholen und erneut als Futterquelle für ihre Ziegen und Schafe dienen kann. Im Rahmen dieses Projekts führen wir zusätzlich Workshops durch, um die Zusammenarbeit der Hirten und nationalen landwirtschaftlichen Forschungsinstituten zu verbessern. Somit kann durch eine Kombination von traditionellem Wissen und neuen landwirtschaftlichen Technologien mehr Nahrung für die Tiere und Ihre Besitzer produziert werden.

 

Weitere Projekte im Land

Aktive Projekte

Abgeschlossene Projekte