Resilience and Economic Growth in Arid Lands (Project REGAL-IR)

Project Overview

Country

Kenya

Project name

REGAL-IR

Project status

Completed

Duration of the project

Start: 01.03.2013
End: 30.04.2017
49 months

Budget

USD 1’673’105

Donors

USAID

Project area

Topics

Tags

 

Background

Because of climate change, droughts in Kenya are more frequent than ever. Especially the people in Isiolo, northern Kenya, whose main income comes from agrigulture and livestock, suffer because of arid lands. The prolonged drought from 2008-2011 left nearly four million people in need of assistance because of large livestock losses.

 

Project:

The project aims to strengthen social, economic and environmental resilience for at least 93‘000 households in Isiolo, Garissa, Marsabit, Turkana, und Wajir Counties in Kenya. These counties contain the highest percentage of households in need of food assistance.

For the implementation of the measures REGAL-IR is in partnership with the Kenyan government and other key development actors to improve social stability. The project implements livelihood strengthening and diversification interventions to improve local households’ food security and incomes. Interventions that strengthen pastoral livelihood include activities that aim to improve livestock production, productivity, and market access.

For example there are self-help groups that Support the members in starting small enterprises. They are supported in mobilizing funds, identifying feasible businesses, and developing business plans. People receive a small fund to invest in their business and later repay it to the self-help group Thus the grant is made available for further lending to other members. Communities are empowered by being solely responsible for identifying opportunities, threats, and priorities in development.

 

 

Further projects in the country

Erhöhung von Widerstandsfähigkeit und Wirtschaftswachstum in Trockenzonen (Projekt REGAL-IR)

Projektübersicht

Land

Kenia

Projektname

REGAL-IR

Projektstatus

abgeschlossen

Projektdauer

Start: 01.03.2013
Ende: 30.04.2017
49 Monate

Budget

 USD 1’673’105

Finanziert durch

USAID

Projektgebiet

Themen

Tags

 

Hintergrund:

Aufgrund des Klimawandels kommt es in Kenia vermehrt zu Dürren. Vor allem die Bevölkerung in Isiolo im Norden von Kenia, deren Einkommen hauptsächlich von Landwirtschaft und Viehzucht abhängt, leidet unter den trockenen Böden. Die lange Dürre von 2008-2011 führte machte fast vier Millionen Menschen von externer Hilfe abhängig, aufgrund der grossen Verluste ihres Viehs.

 

Projekt:

Das Projekt REGAL-IR fokussiert sich darauf die Widerstandsfähigkeit der Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Umwelt zu stärken. Mindestens 93‘000 Haushalte in Isiolo, Garissa, Marsabit, Turkana und Wajir in Kenia, die am stärksten von Nahrungsmittelhilfe angewiesen sind, werden in das Projekt einbezogen. 

Um die Massnahmen umzusetzen, wird mit der kenianischen Regierung und weiteren Entwicklungshilfe-Akteuren zusammengearbeitet um die soziale Stabilität zu erhöhen. Das Projekt implementiert Massnahmen zur Stärkung des Lebensunterhalts und zur Erhöhung der Nahrungsmittelsicherheit und des Einkommens. 

Ein Beispiel dafür sind Selbsthilfegruppen, wo die Mitglieder kleine Geschäfte ins Leben rufen. Sie werden dabei unterstützt Gelder zu mobilisieren, Geschäftsideen und Bussinesspläne zu entwickeln. Sie erhalten einen finanziellen Startbeitrag um in ihr Geschäft zu investieren. Diesen bezahlen sie nach einer gewissen Zeit an die Selbsthilfegruppe zurück und somit steht ein Geldbetrag für neue Geschäftsinvestitionen zur Verfügung. Die Gemeinschaften werden gestärkt indem sie dafür verantwortlich gemacht werden die Probleme und Möglichkeiten zu identifizieren und die Prioritäten in der Entwicklung zu definieren.

 

 

Weitere Projekte im Land

Aktive Projekte