Emergency aid to improve food security and livelihoods for people in the Sudan conflict

Project Overview

Country

South Sudan

Project name

SCD

Duration of the project

Start:

01.08.2023

End:

31.01.2024

Budget

USD 300’000

Financed by

 

 

Project area

Topics

Tags

Background

In the Sudanese conflict, at least 3 million people (half of them children) have already been displaced by the escalating violence. In addition, armed groups inside and outside of the country are denying civilians safe entry and exit.

The continuing stream of displaced people into South Sudan is worsening the already catastrophic humanitarian situation in the country, which is slow to respond and faces increasing needs with limited resources. This is putting additional strain on existing support, including essential natural resources, goods and services.

Goal

The project aims to save lives and improve access to diversified food, income and livelihoods. This will be done through unconditional cash transfers, fishing livelihood kits and vegetable growing kits. The programme targets the 5,000 most vulnerable households (approximately 30,000 people) in the border areas of South Sudan. Project participants include displaced people, refugees, returnees, asylum seekers and hosting communities.

Approach

VSF Suisse takes a consultative and participatory approach to project implementation: the participation of men, women, boys and girls, including young people, older people and people with disabilities, is encouraged to ensure that the interests of the various groups are taken into account in the planning, implementation and monitoring of the project.

Which of the 17 UN Sustainable Development Goals does this project work towards?

 

Other projects in the country

Subscribe to Our Newsletter
Be the first to hear news about VSF-Suisse activities, receive insight into projects, get country updates, interesting stories and much more... We are happy to have you!
This website uses cookies to ensure that you get the best experience.
This website uses cookies to ensure that you get the best experience.

Nothilfe für verbesserte Ernährungssicherheit und Sicherung der Lebensgrundlagen für Menschen im Sudankonflikt

Projektübersicht

Projektname

SCD

Projektdauer

Start:

01.08.2023

Ende:

31.01.2024

Budget

USD 300’000

Finanziert durch

 

Projektgebiet

Themen

Tags

Hintergrund 

Im Sudan-Konflikt sind bereits mindestens 3 Millionen Menschen (die Hälfte davon Kinder) durch die eskalierende Gewalt vertrieben worden. Hinzu kommt, dass bewaffnete Gruppen innerhalb und ausserhalb des Landes Zivilisten die sichere Ein- und Ausreise verweigern. 

Der anhaltende Zustrom von Vertriebenen in den Südsudan verschlimmert die ohnehin schon katastrophale humanitäre Lage im Land, das nur langsam reagiert und mit begrenzten Ressourcen einem steigenden Bedarf gegenübersteht. Dies führt zu einer zusätzlichen Belastung der bestehenden Unterstützung, einschliesslich wichtiger natürlicher Ressourcen, Waren und Dienstleistungen. 

Das Ziel 

Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, Leben zu retten und den Zugang zu diversifizierten Nahrungsmitteln, Einkommen und Lebensgrundlagen zu verbessern. Dies soll durch bedingungslose Bargeldtransfers, Kits für den Lebensunterhalt durch Fischerei und Kits für den Gemüseanbau geschehen. Die Aktion richtet sich an die 5‘000 am stärksten gefährdeten Haushalte (ca. 30‘000 Menschen), in den südsudanesischen Grenzgebieten. Zu den Projektteilnehmer:innen gehören Vertriebene, Flüchtlinge, Rückkehrer:innen, Asylbewerber:innen und Aufnahmegemeinschaften.  

Ansatz 

VSF Suisse verfolgt einen konsultativen und partizipativen Ansatz bei der Projektumsetzung: Die Beteiligung von Männern, Frauen, Jungen und Mädchen, einschliesslich Jugendlicher, älterer Menschen und Behinderter wird gefördert, um sicherzustellen, dass die Interessen der verschiedenen Gruppen bei der Planung, Durchführung und Überwachung des Projekts berücksichtigt werden.  

Welche der 17 Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung der Vereinten Nationen verfolgt dieses Projekt?

 

            

Weitere Projekte im Land

Abonnieren sie unseren Newsletter
Erhalten Sie Neuigkeiten zu unseren Aktivitäten, Einblicke in die Projekte, Länder-Updates, interessante Geschichten und vieles mehr... Wir freuen uns auf Sie!
Diese Website verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen das bestmögliche Nutzungserlebnis zu garantieren.
Diese Website verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen das bestmögliche Nutzungserlebnis zu garantieren.