Emergency destocking in Mali in the drought summer of 2018 (FAO Destockage)

Project Overview

Country

Mali

Project name

FAO Destockage

Project status

Completed

Duration of the project

Start: 12.07.2018
End: 30.11.2018
4 months

Budget

CHF 46’000

Donors:

FAO

Project area

Topics

Tags

 

Background

In 2018, about 1’600’000 cattle, 2’162’466 sheep and 2’743’604 goats were at risk. Animals losses represent a huge loss of income for pastoralist households and negatively impact their livelihoods. In addition, animal carcasses not disposed of correctly represent a risk in terms of facilitating animal epidemic’s propagation.

Project:

In the process of destocking the weakest animals are removed from the herd before they die or pose a risk to public health. In our project in Mali the identified animals are slaughtered, and the edible meat is distributed in priority to children.
Through this emergency intervention, herd size is reduced. It is more valuable to have a small herd in good health than to lose a large herd due to disease, lack of fodder or water scarcity. Once the drought is over, pastoral households can rely on healthy animals and renew and increase herd size through breeding.
Through this emergency intervention, herd size is reduced. It is more valuable to have a small herd in good health than to lose a large herd due to disease, lack of fodder or water scarcity. Once the drought is over, pastoral households can rely on healthy animals and renew and increase herd size through breeding.

Further projects in the country

Abbau von Viehbeständen im Dürresommer 2018 in Mali (FAO Destockage)

Projektübersicht

Land

Mali

Projektname

FAO Destockage 

Projektstatus

abgeschlossen

Projektdauer

Start: 12.07.2018
Ende: 30.11.2018
4 Monate

Budget

CHF 46’000

Finanziert durch:

FAO

Projektgebiet

Themen

Tags 

 

Hintergrund:

Im Jahr 2018 waren schätzungsweise rund 1’600’000 Rinder, 2’162’466 Schafe und 2’743’604 Ziegen akut gefährdet. Während der Dürrezeit stellen sterbende Tiere einen enormen Einkommensverlust für pastorale Haushalte dar und beeinträchtigen ihre Lebensgrundlage; zudem können nicht korrekt beseitigte Tierkadaver den Ausbruch von Seuchen begünstigen.

Projekt:

Beim Abbau von Viehbeständen werden die schwächsten Tiere aus der Herde entfernt, bevor sie sterben oder eine Gefahr für die menschliche Gesundheit darstellen. In unserem Projekt in Mali werden die identifizierten Tiere geschlachtet und das essbare Fleisch wird vorrangig an Kinder verteilt.
Durch diese Notfallmaßnahme wird die Herdengröße reduziert. Schliesslich es ist wertvoller, eine kleine Herde bei guter Gesundheit zu haben, als eine große Herde aufgrund von Krankheiten, Futter- oder Wassermangel zu verlieren. Nach Beendigung der Dürre können sich die Haushalte von Viehzüchtern auf gesunde Tiere verlassen und selbständig die Herde durch ein Zuchtprogramm erneuern und vergrößern.
Durch diese Notfallmaßnahme wird die Herdengröße reduziert. Schliesslich es ist wertvoller, eine kleine Herde bei guter Gesundheit zu haben, als eine große Herde aufgrund von Krankheiten, Futter- oder Wassermangel zu verlieren. Nach Beendigung der Dürre können sich die Haushalte von Viehzüchtern auf gesunde Tiere verlassen und selbständig die Herde durch ein Zuchtprogramm erneuern und vergrößern.

Weitere Projekte im Land