Securing the livelihood of households affected by the desert locust plague in Isiolo

Project Overview

Country

Kenya

Project name

PDLLS

Project status

Completed

Duration of the project

Start: 15.09.2020
End: 15.03.2021
6 months

Budget

CHF 50’000

Financed by

Project area

Topics

Tags

Background

Since December 2019, the countries of the Horn of Africa have been fighting the worst plague of locusts in the last 25 years. Kenya in particular has not seen a plague of this magnitude in the last 70 years. Benefiting from the long rainy season, the desert locusts were able to multiply at a rapid pace. On their way from the Middle East to the Horn of Africa, the swarms are feeding on seeds, pastureland, supplies and harvests. The already precarious food security of the people in this region is put under additional pressure.

The locust plague has direct effects on the food chains of humans and animals. The most visible consequence is the destruction of pastureland and crops. Without the important animal feed, the productivity of livestock suffers. Less milk and poorer prices for emaciated animals mean reduced income and food shortages for the affected families. Weakened animals are also more susceptible to disease. All these factors lead to a deterioration in food security for entire population groups.

Project

VSF-Suisse directly supports and works with the affected villages, communities and families. We provide animal feed, promote access to veterinary treatment and vaccinations and distribute seeds and agricultural tools for replanting the destroyed fields. We also organize training and education to help prepare the population for future locust plagues. All this should ultimately strengthen the resilience of the livelihoods of the affected people.

Other projects in the country

Sicherung des Lebensunterhalts der von der Wüstenheuschreckenplage betroffenen Haushalte in Isiolo

Projektübersicht

Land

Kenia

Projektname

PDLLS

Projektstatus

Aktiv

Projektdauer

Start: 15.09.2020
Ende: 15.03.2021
6 Monate

Budget

CHF 50’000

Finanziert durch:

  • Ernährungs- und Landwirtschaftsorganisation der Vereinten Nationen FAO

Projektgebiet

Themen

Tags

Hintergrund

Seit Dezember 2019 kämpfen die Länder am Horn von Afrika mit der schlimmsten Heuschreckenplage der letzten 25 Jahre. In Kenia hat man eine Plage dieses Ausmasses gar in den letzten 70 Jahren nicht erlebt. Begünstigt durch die lange Regenzeit konnten sich die Wüstenheuschrecken in rasantem Tempo vermehren. Auf ihrem Weg vom mittleren Osten ans Horn von Afrika fressen die Schwärme Saatgut, Weideland, Vorräte und Ernten weg. Die ohnehin prekäre Ernährungssicherheit der Menschen in dieser Region gerät damit zusätzlich unter Druck.

Die Heuschreckenplage hat also direkte Auswirkungen auf die Nahrungsmittelketten von Menschen und Tieren. Die sichtbarste Folge ist die Vernichtung von Weideland und Ernten. Ohne das wichtige Tierfutter leidet die Produktivität des Viehs. Weniger Milch und schlechtere Preise für ausgemergelte Tiere bedeuten für die betroffenen Familien Einkommenseinbussen und Ernährungsengpässe. Geschwächte Tiere sind ausserdem anfälliger für Krankheiten. All dies führt mittelfristig zur Verschlechterung der Ernährungssicherheit für ganze Bevölkerungsgruppen. 

Projekt

VSF-Suisse engagiert sich gezielt für die betroffenen Dörfer, nomadischen Gemeinschaften und Familien. Wir stellen Tierfutter zur Verfügung, fördern den Zugang zu tierärztlichen Behandlungen und Impfungen und verteilen Samen und landwirtschaftliche Werkzeuge für die Wiederbepflanzung der zerstörten Felder. Um die Bevölkerung besser auf zukünftige Heuschreckenplagen vorzubereiten, organisieren wir zudem Trainings und betreiben Aufklärung. All dies soll schlussendlich zur Widerstandsfähigkeit der Lebensgrundlage der betroffenen Personen beitragen.

Weitere Projekte im Land