Rebuilding livestock-based livelihoods and promoting resiliency of pastoralists in Siti Zone of Somali Region

Project Overview

Country

Ethiopia

Project name

GEBI 25111

Project status

Finished

Duration of the project

Start: 01.10.2017
End: 30.09.2019
11 months

Budget

EUR 325’000

In collaboration with

GIZ

Project area

Topics

Tags

Background

The Siti zone in the Somali region of Ethiopia is an area which is recurrently affected by drought induced emergency situations. . For pastoralists (as well as their families and the whole community), whose livelihoods are based on livestock breeding and the production of animal products, these repeated droughts. have devastating consequences: fewer pastures and less water make the animals weaker and more susceptible to disease.. The herd can’t recover and gets smaller every year. In the meantime, many pastoralists have lost their livestock-based livelihoods and hence are pastoralist drop-outs because of the drought.

Project:

Since 2015, when the Siti Zone was severely affected by one of the most severe El Niño induced droughts,VSF-Suisse has been working to recover the region’s livelihoods and buildits resilience.

We have shown pastoralists and pastoralist drop-outs in five districts of the region how they can produce their own fodder as an alternative or in addition to livestock farming. Through the targeted use of groundwater,hey can irrigate their arable land despite periods of drought.

Since 2017, we have been supporting a further 120 vulnerable households in the Hadhigala district in the cultivation of vegetables, fruit and feed. The families receive trainings in cultivation and harvesting techniques and storage of fodder/ hay and our team provides them with drought-resistant fodder seeds. The households are encouraged to bulk seeds in order to address the challenge of seed scarcity. This integrates the male and female farmers into a value chain and enables them to generate income from seed sales.

The The resilience of the pastoralist communities can thus in many ways: they have access to fodder, vegetables and fruit throughout the year; thanks to the the better availability of fodder, . goats, sheep, cows and camels are more fertile and give more mil; by bulking and selling the seeds, the target communities receive an additional income and can secure their livelihoods.

Wiederaufbau der Lebensgrundlagen und Förderung der Widerstandsfähigkeit von Viehzüchtern in der Siti Zone

Projektübersicht:

Land

Äthiopien

Projektname

GEBI 25111

Projektstatus

Abgeschlossen

Projektdauer

Start: 01.10.2017
Ende: 30.09.2019
11 Monate

Budget

EUR 325’000

In Zusammenarbeit mit

GIZ

Projektgebiet

Themen

Tags

Hintergrund:

Die Siti-Zone in der Somali-Region in Äthiopien ist ein Gebiet, das immer wieder von Dürrekatastrophen betroffen ist. Für die nomadischen Hirten (wie auch ihre Familien und die ganze Gemeinschaft) in den ländlichen Gebieten Äthiopiens, deren Lebensunterhalt auf der Tierhaltung und der Herstellung tierischer Produkte beruht, haben diese wiederholten Dürreperioden verheerende Folgen: dadurch, dass weniger Weideland und Wasser zu finden sind, werden die Tiere schwächer und krankheitsanfälliger. Die Herde kann sich nicht erholen und schrumpft jedes Jahr mehr. Viele Viehzüchter haben in der Zwischenzeit ihren ganzen Nutztierbestand verloren und ihr Leben als Viehzüchter aufgegeben.

Projekt:

Seit dem Jahr 2015, als die Siti-Zone von einer der verheerendsten Dürren durch die Folgen von El Niño heimgesucht wurde, setzt sich VSF-Suisse für den Wiederaufbau der Lebensgrundlagen und die Stärkung der Widerstandsfähigkeit der Region ein.

Wir haben den Hirten und ehemaligen Hirten in fünf Distrikten der Region gezeigt, wie sie als Alternative oder zusätzlich zur Nutztierhaltung ihr eigenes Futter herstellen können, indem sie durch den gezielten Einsatz von Grundwasser ihre Ackerflächen trotz Dürreperioden bewässern können.

Seit 2017 unterstützen wir weitere 120 benachteiligte Haushalte im Distrikt Hadhigala im Anbau von Gemüse, Früchten und Futter. Die Haushalte erhalten Schulungen zu Anbau- und Erntetechniken und dem Aufbewahren des Futters/der Lagerung des Heus, zusätzlich wird ihnen trockenheitsresistentes Futtersaatgut zur Verfügung gestellt. Die Zielhaushalte werden ermutigt, Samen zu züchten und somit die Saatgutknappheit während der Dürre zu umgehen. Dadurch werden die Anbauer und Anbauerinnen in eine Wertschöpfungskette integriert und können aus dem Verkauf des Saatgutes Einnahmen zu erzielen.

Die Widerstandsfähigkeit der bedrohten Hirten und Nomadengemeinschaften kann somit vielseitig gestärkt werden: sie haben Zugang zu Futter, Gemüse und Früchten während des ganzen Jahres; dank der verbesserten Verfügbarkeit von Futter sind die Ziegen, Schafe, Kühe und Kamele fruchtbarer und geben mehr Milch; durch das Züchten und den Verkauf der Samen erhalten die gefährdeten Gemeinschaften ein zusätzliches Einkommen und können ihren Lebensunterhalt sichern.